Skip to content ↓

Our Governors

The Governors of Sherborne St John C of E Primary School have a duty to set the strategic direction of the school with Miss Jolliffe and the staff. They have a responsibility to hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils. They oversee the financial performance of the school and ensure that the resources are used wisely, so that each child in the school has the best possible education.

The Governing Body meets at least twice a term and they all work on one of the Committees: Finance and Facilities, Curriculum, Ethos and HR. This is where they really hold the school to account and ask detailed questions about standards, behaviour, progress, how the money is being spent; how staff and pupils are being supported to do their best; how the children are kept safe and a whole host of other things. The governors come into school regularly, talk to children and staff and monitor first hand what is happening.

All this is a huge responsibility, but it is also a privilege to be part of such a great school with such a dedicated team doing their very best for every child.

Meet our Governors

Woody Ruane
Chair of Governors
Chair of Finance and Facilities committee
Sarah Jolliffe- Headteacher
Amy McLaughlin- Safeguarding Governor
Diane Pound
Chair of Curriculum Committee
Sue Lake
Lucy Johnston
Lynda Harding
Julie Grand
Philippa Scott
Chris Woodward- Chair of HR Committee
Rev. Stewart Deering- Chair of Ethos Committee